Strides of Progress

Saturday was one of those productive, exhausting days where I made great strides of progress toward decluttering my bedroom and creating some calm.  I marched in with boxes and a plan to be ruthless.  All the excess needed to go. I had read a post on Joshua Becker’s blog (www.becomingminimalist.com) about a painless way to declutter.  He recommends throwing everything you think you can live without into a box, and storing the box for a few months.  If you need anything, you can still retrieve it, but in the meantime you get to experience minimalism and see if you like it.

I was ruthless.  I tossed.  I even threw a few things away!  I went back through drawers I’d already weeded.  I ended up with 4 boxes, 2 woven baskets, and a few pillows that needed to be stored while I developed the spine to get rid of them.  The debate was between putting them in the garage or the attic.  There were pros and cons of each, but in the end I figured there was more space in the attic.  The attic is not a finished space, but it does contain two little rooms about 3 by 6 feet where we store off-season clothes and Christmas stuff.  I hauled the boxes up the stairs, then opened the room with the clothes, thinking this would be a quick stacking job and I’d be done.  Oh, sometimes I do make myself laugh!

I was greeted by a clothes rod beginning to bend under the weight of the clothes, and a stack of under-bed storage boxes that just about filled the space!  Crap.  I stuffed some of the smaller boxes in there, then thought “No problem.  There’s a bunch of room in the Christmas closet.”  Oh, I am so funny sometimes!!  I opened it up and “What to my wonderous eyes did appear…”  but a strange metal box that has lived in the attic since I bought the place.  “How did it get in here?”  I looked at this over-stuffed site and reminded myself “Terrie, you really ARE out of control…”  I managed to get the remaining boxes into hiding, but the experience did deflate my feeling of accomplishment quite a bit.

I slunk back to the bedroom, overwhelmed and defeated, but as I entered, was greeted by two chest of drawers with nothing on them.  Aahhh…  I went a little farther in and actually peaked at my closet: space, empty shelves, orderly. Bigger aahhh…  I was feeling better about my experiment already.

I’m trying to tell myself that winter will be the perfect time to get a box down, go through it and toss.  I chuckle as I say this, knowing full well the reality is that I won’t even remember those boxes are up there — well, until I try and get my winter clothes down or put the Christmas ornaments up.  But as Scarlet always says “Tomorrow is another day.”

Keep Smiling!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

